National Site

The 23rd issue of The Deli is out + Online interactive version!

Music obsessed NYC-ers,

The 23rd issue of The Deli (pictrured) was delivered to the most rocking NYC neighborhoods yesterday - did you see it?
If you didn't, here is a shortlist of the location that carry it:

LES: Mercury Lounge, Pianos, Cake Shop, Arlene's Grocery, The Delancey.
East Village: Webster Hall, Bowery Electric, Rivington Guitars, 1st Flight Music, Otto's Shrunken Head, Banjo's Jim, The Library.
Chelsea: Music Buildings on 30th St. and on 8th Ave at 39th street, Funkadelic, S.I.R., Smash Rehearsals, 30th Street Guitars, Rogue Music, News Cafe.
West Village: Other Music, Rebel Rebel Records, My Generation Records, le Poisson Rouge.
Williamsburg: Main Drag, Southside Guitars, Earwax Records, Beacon's Closet, Soundfix, Public Assembly, Music Hall of Williamsburg, Trash Bar, Bruars Falls, Flood Rehearsals, Glasslands, Monster Island, Union Pool, Sweat Shop rehearsals.
Greenpoint: Matchless, Coco66, Rehearsal Studio on Franklin, Europa, Permanent Records.

We will hit locations in Park Slope/Gowanus and Bushwick early next week.

YOU CAN NOW ALSO SEE IT ONLINE HERE!!! With interactive liks, dudes!


The Deli's Staff


Business 80

CD Name: 
Strangers With Me
Music Link:
Album Cover URL:
<p>From the outset <a href="">Business 80's</a> debut <em>Strangers With Me</em> quivers with a looming sensation of darkness. It oozes a sadness that lurks in the darkest corners of its sound. A collage of glitching synthesized sounds, live instruments, and ominously sung vocals, Business 80 is the latest project by local songwriter H.A. Eugene (whose previous creation, <a href="">Burbank International's</a> <a href=";itemId=206422"><em>City of Burbank</em></a>, put him squarely on the Bay Area's music scene map) and a dramatic turn from the tender folk sounds of his previous work.</p> <p>A mostly electronic album, <em>Strangers With Me</em> is broken into three movements, each (for reasons not outwardly clear) named after Tenderloin bars (Koko, Hemlock, and Ha-Ra). With driving industrial rhythms and often piercing electronic squelches throughout <em>Strangers With Me</em>, apt comparisons to acts like Nine Inch Nails (or a much harder version of Depeche Mode) certainly jump to mind, peppered with a spirit of IDM from the likes of Plaid, Autechre, or even Squarepusher (maybe a stretch).</p> <p>Opening amidst a wash of penetrating electronic sounds and almost choked vocal gurgles, the eerie and despondent &quot;Koko&quot; begins the section of the same name. As with most the songs on this album, an intricate depth characterizes the soundscape of this song, with multiple pieces waiting to be found amidst the layers. Trapped in a loop, the album title is repeated endlessly as the synth sounds punctuate the space of the song. The result of this, as the line &quot;strangers with me&quot; is muttered ad nauseum, is an unnerving level of violence to the loneliness evoked throughout &quot;Koko.&quot;</p> <p>&quot;Who Died?&quot; follows, and with it's crescendoing viola line it may well be my favorite track on this album (the track that follows being a close second). Coupled with an ethereal-sounding arppegiated synth-line, and one of the more forceful and driving bass outros I've had the pleasure of hearing, this song really sends chills down the spine.</p> <p>If &quot;Who Died?'s&quot; outro is an emotional ascension, &quot;Mad at Nothing&quot; is its zenith. Certainly the funkiest track on the album, &quot;Mad at Nothing,&quot; if for its title only, really captures the spirit of <em>Strangers With Me</em>. There is a feeling of impudent rage that permeates throughout the narrative of these songs. From the anger and the drive that pushes the vamping repetition of the line &quot;never learned shit, got stupider stupider,&quot; to the flailing rage that percolates from Mad at nothing, to the suffocating impotence of &quot;Getting Sick for Real&quot; and &quot;This Place Where We Used to Play,&quot; there is an invisible force that torments the character of <em>Strangers With Me</em>.</p> <p>All things considered, with its tumultuous layers of electronic sounds, <em>Strangers With Me</em> is an alluring and schizophrenic emotional ride. Peppered with rage, terror, loneliness and pure driven anguish <em>Strangers With Me</em> is a fascinatingly complicated album.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>-<em>Ada Lann</em></p> <p>Note: <em>Strangers With Me</em> can be purchased <a href="">here</a>.</p>

Grandchildren Unveil Cover Art & Tracklisting for Debut LP!

Grandchildren just unveiled the cover art and tracklisting for their debut LP Everlasting due out on Green Owl Records on September 28! Expect a Fall U.S. Tour in support.
1 - Cold Warrior
2 - Winterlude
3 - Heartbreaker
4 - Saturn Returns
5 - Toss & Turn
6 - Everlasting
7 - OK I'm Waiting
8 - Little Big Ones
9 - Anthill
10 - When You're Not Lookin
- The Deli Staff



Rusko releases new video for 'Hold On' ft. Amber Coffman

LA native dubstepper Rusko just released his video for 'Hold On' ft. Amber Coffman of the Dirty Projectors. Shot over a hectic 5 day period on his last UK tour, the video is a glimpse into his world.

If you thought the crowd in the video looked like they were having fun, you can check Rusko out next weekend, July 24th, at the NOS Events Center in San Bernadino, CA


PW Announces Concert in the Park Open Contest Winners

Congrats to The Homophones, Gang and Government Cheaze! It was just announced today that they’ve won the right to open one of the three dates for Philadelphia Weekly’s Concert in the Park series. Cheers ladies and gents! - The Deli Staff